LibGuides: Christian Ministries: Bible

Bibles Online

Bibles are also in print in Reference 220 and General Stacks 220.5.

BibleGateway.com
A searchable online Bible in over 100 versions and 50 languages.
BibleStudyTools.com
Gives brief history of each translation.
Blue Letter Bible
Several English versions, the Greek Septuagint, and Masoretic texts are available. One can also access commentaries, sermons, audio aids, dictionaries and concordances on any given verse.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Includes several Bible versions, including the Septuagint, the Tanakh, the Vulgate, the Polyglot King James Version, etc.
New English Translation of the Septuagint
This electronic edition contains the masters of the second printing of A New English Translation of the Septuagint, as published by Oxford University Press in 2009, including corrections and emendations made in the second printing (2009) and corrections and emendations made in June 2014.
YouVersion
Bible app for phone, tablet, and computer. Supports over 1000 different languages.

Bible Commentaries

These commentaries are also available in print in the Shaw-Leslie Library. Recently published commentaries, such as the Word Biblical Commentaries, are in both the Reference section and in the general stacks in 226-229.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library: Study
Side-by-side Bible and available commentaries for every book of the Bible.
Calvin's Commentaries
John Calvin's commentaries often originated from lectures that he reworked for publication. He is best known for his commentaries on the Pauline epistles, his harmony of the Gospels, and his 5-volume work on the Psalms
Commentaries by Alexander MacLaren
These volumes are MacLaren's powerful sermons, arranged by the text of the sermons.

eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Some commentaries are available in this site. These are not all appropriate for scholarly exegetical papers, so check with your professor before using them.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Commentaries and other biblical reference works can be also found here.

Exposition of Genesis: Volumes 1 and 2
Herbert Carl Leupold provides careful exegesis and theological comment.
Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible
A primarily exegetical, dealing with the scripture text as presented, with his prime intention being explanation, for practical and devotional purposes (written 1708, edited 1811).

Bible Atlases/Concordances/Dictionaries

Bible atlases are found in 220.91 in Reference and in General Stacks.

Bible Atlas
Part of the Bible Suite by Biblios. Search can be either an atlas search or a topical search. General area map, history and features are returned as well as a list of Biblical references.
Bible Maps
Biblical maps and historical geography for Bible study. Easily printed free maps.
BibleGateway.com: Dictionaries
Includes Hitchcock's Bible Names, Dictionary of Bible Themes, and Easton's Bible Dictionary.

Web Sites

The Digital Dead Sea Scrolls
Digital copies of five Dead Sea scrolls, including the Isaiah scroll, are available to view online. Currently the online translation is only available for the Isaiah Scroll.
Art and the Bible
An ever increasing selection of their work is presented, with every painting linked to a related bible passage.
Biblical Archaeology Review
An archaeology magazine that acts as a bridge between the academic study of archaeology and a broad general audience eager to understand the world of the Bible better.
Holy Land Photos by Carl Rasmussen
There are 594 Biblical sites shown in over 6,700 pictures.
The Journal of Inductive Biblical Studies
Seeks to promote the hermeneutical approach to the study of the Scriptures generally known as Inductive Biblical Studies.