LibGuides: Secondary Education: Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOTwebsites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by EC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The EC list of databases offers brief information about each resource.

Find scholarly articles and other information related to secondary education by logging in to these GALILEO databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Select full-text to find your articles.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia plus interactive guides to language arts, mathematics, and science and a Teacher's Resources section that helps incorporate the encyclopedia and the Internet into the curriculum.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research.
Professional Development Collection: education This link opens in a new window
A specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Over 790 top educational publications, including more than 615 of the titles in full text.
Research Library at ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Good for science-related reference, magazines, newspaper articles, images, and scholarly journals.
TOPICsearch (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
A current events database covering social, political, and economic issues as well as scientific discoveries and other popular topics.

These are open access databases. No password is needed to locate the full text articles found here.

BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 340 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
ERIC (eric.ed.gov website) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic records of education literature, plus a growing collection of full text.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

National Science Digital Library This link opens in a new window
An online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research.