LibGuides: Criminal Justice: Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOT websites. You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by EC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The EC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.

Find scholarly articles and other information related to criminal justice by logging into these GALILEO databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
MEDLINE at EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
By the National Library of Medicine, it searches over 4,000 biomedical journals.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Research Library at ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Good for science-related reference, magazines, newspaper articles, images, and scholarly journals.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full-text of more than 310 journals in sociology and social work. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

These are open access databases. No password is needed to locate the full text articles found here.

BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 340 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Publishes 206 peer-reviewed, open access journals. Browse by journal name or select a subject area.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
MedNar: Deep Web Medical Search This link opens in a new window
MedNar is a free, publicly available deep web search engine that uses advanced "federated search technology" to return high quality results by submitting your search query - in real-time - to other well respected search engines then collating, ranking and dropping duplicates of the results.
PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians striving to make scientific literature freely available to the public.

Test Reviews Online
Freely searchable index of more than 4,000 test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook. Full-test reviews may be purchased for $15 each.