LibGuides: Graphic Design: Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOTwebsites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by EC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The EC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.

Find scholarly articles and other information related to graphic design by logging in to these databases. If you are off campus, you will need to log into GALILEO for access.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Select full-text to find your articles.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly business database that provides full-text access to many peer-reviewed business related journals, including disciplines such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
Computer Source This link opens in a new window
300 full text journals and magazines covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
Research Library at ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Good for science-related reference, magazines, newspaper articles, images, and scholarly journals.

These are open access databases. No password is needed to locate the full text articles and artwork found here.

BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 340 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Google Art Project
Allows visitors to view over a thousand works of art from some of the great museums of the world.

Production Art Database This link opens in a new window
A guide to original artwork in the library's collection at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, including costume design and production design drawings, animation art, storyboards and paintings.