LibGuides: Pre-Professional: Databases

Find scholarly articles and other information related to medicine by logging in to these GALILEO databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Select full-text to find your articles.
CDC Centers for Disease Control and Prevention This link opens in a new window
Access to statistical data and CDC publications.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Environmental impact articles.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals, including many indexed in MEDLINE.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines.
MEDLINE at EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
By the National Library of Medicine, it searches over 4,000 biomedical journals.
Medline with Full Text This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Merck Manual (Consumer Version) This link opens in a new window
The Merck Manuals Consumer Version offers trusted, concise and correct discussions of diagnosis and therapy, written in everyday language.
Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at health care facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions.
Research Library at ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Good for science-related reference, magazines, newspaper articles, images, and scholarly journals.
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text, includes some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government, and public research environments.
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 820 leading full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community

These are open access databases. No password is needed to locate the full text articles found here.

BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 340 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Publishes 206 peer-reviewed, open access journals. Browse by journal name or select a subject area.
MedNar: Deep Web Medical Search This link opens in a new window
Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine that uses Explorit Everywhere! Mednar accelerates your research with a search of authoritative public and deep web resources, returning the most relevant results to one easily navigable page.
National Center for Biotechnology Information This link opens in a new window
NCBI is a US government-funded national resource for biomedical and genomic information.

National Center for Health Statistics
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's (CDC) National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) maintains international health statistics programs with more than 20 countries, including bilateral agreements.

PLOS (Public Library of Science) This link opens in a new window
A nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians striving to make scientific literature freely available to the public.
WorldWideScience.org This link opens in a new window
WorldWideScience.org allows the user to search multiple scientific sources from around the world with a single query. Multilingual translations capabilities exist for ten languages, enabling access to the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environmental sciences, and engineering. Much of the information accessed via WorldWideScience.org is freely available, in support of open science.