Brings together various activities, publications (both electronic and conventional), and projects centered at the Jacobs School of Music at Indiana University.
Companion website to SchenkerGUIDE: A Brief Handbook and Website for Schenkerian Analysis, published by Routledge. Includes online exercises, a summary of the method outlined in the handbook, extensive searchable glossary of terms in English and German, bibliography, tips for presenting Schenkerian graphs (including on Sibelius), and Powerpoint slide shows and worksheets.
Organization that promotes music theory as both a scholarly and a pedagogical discipline. Home of Music Theory Spectrum and Music Theory Online. They also support mobile devices.
An interactive site for music composers and theorists which explains and demonstrates some of the key concepts of tonality; including chords, scales, cadences, and modulation.
The peer-reviewed online journal of the Music Theory Society of the Mid-Atlantic. A journal of criticism, commentary, research, and scholarship, Gamut seeks submissions for any aspect of music theory and its cognate disciplines.
GALILEO Database Journals
Find these journals and more in the GALILEO databases.
Focuses on mathematical approaches to musical structures & processes, including mathematical investigations into music-theoretic or compositional issues as well as mathematically motivated analyses of musical works or performances.
Emphasizes an interdisciplinary foundation for music by means of the most advanced technologies. Covers musicology, psychology, information sciences, philosophy and brain sciences.
Features articles on a wide range of topics in music theory and analysis, including aesthetics, critical theory and hermeneutics, history of theory, post-tonal theory, linear analysis, rhythm, music cognition, and the analysis of popular musics.
