History

An extensive, media-rich site covering social as well as military aspects of the war. From the U.K.'s original public service broadcaster.

59 sound recordings of speeches by American leaders from 1918-1920. The speeches focus on issues and events surrounding the First World War and the subsequent presidential election of 1920. Speakers include: Warren G. Harding, James Cox, Calvin Coolidge, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Samuel Gompers, Henry Cabot Lodge, and John J. Pershing. Speeches range from one to five minutes.

This is the companion site to PBS' program on World War I, it features an interactive timeline and maps and locations.

This archive of primary documents from the Great War period is international in focus. The intention is to present in one location both primary and relevant secondary documents between 1890-1930.

PDF maps of all the battles and campaigns in timeline sequence.

In 1943, Ansel Adams (1902-1984), America's most well-known photographer, documented the Manzanar War Relocation Center in California and the Japanese-Americans interned there during World War II.

An extensive, media-rich site covering social as well as military aspects of the war. From the U.K.'s original public service broadcaster.

Tells the story of the American Experience in the war that changed the world - why it was fought, how it was won, and what it means today - so that all generations will understand the price of freedom and be inspired by what they learn.

The site includes a Timeline of Events, a Holocaust Encyclopedia and Related Maps.

Digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government arranged by century. Project of Yale Law School.

Browse by topic, then by collection (dates are given) for anything American, from advertising to women's history. Digital copies of many primary resources and photographs are available, and the collection continues to grow.

Combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents, leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets.

In interesting timeline of major events, primarily involving the U.S. Treasury.

From the Library of Congress, the collection contains 401 items consisting of video files, videocassettes, digital photographs and interview transcripts, with several more such items to be added once the interviews conclude in 2015.