LibGuides: History: Georgia

Georiga History Resources

There are 88 databases in GALILEO related to Georgia, its history, culture, governance, and resources. Below are a few of these databases. To see the list of all the databases, go the link at the bottom of the list "Georgia Sites in GALILEO."

Battle of Atlanta
Great interactive site presented by the Atlanta Journal-Constitution and Atlanta History Center.

Digital Library of Georgia This link opens in a new window
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources.
To search or browse the holdings of the Digital Library of Georgia, visit the DLG homepage at: https://dlg.usg.edu/

Documenting the American South (DocSouth)
Texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Georgia Historical Society
Showcases many items and artifacts in the Georgia Historical Society's collections.

New Georgia Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The New Georgia Encyclopedia provides access to authoritative information on people, places, events, history, and other topics about the state of Georgia. The site includes articles and images on every aspect of the state and includes links to related Internet sites.

Georgia Sites in GALILEO
List of databases pertaining to Georgia.

In the Library

The Bonfire : the siege and burning of Atlanta by Marc Wortman
Call Number: 973.7371 W935B
Publication Date: 2010
The Empire State of the South : Georgia history in documents and essays by Christopher C. Meyers (Editor)
Call Number: 975.8 E55
Publication Date: 2008
Stories with a Moral : literature and society in nineteenth-century Georgia by Michael E. Price
Call Number: 810.9 P946S
Publication Date: 2000
"What Nature Suffers to Groe" : life, labor, and landscape on the Georgia coast, 1680-1920 by Mart A. Stewart
Call Number: 304.2 S851W
Publication Date: 1996