LibGuides: Communication Studies: Theatre

Monologues and Dialogues

A Young Actor's Scene Book : a training tool by Barbara Marchant
Call Number: 808.82 Y68
Publication Date: 2000
Outstanding Stage Monologs and Scenes from the '90s : professional auditions for student actors by Steven H. Gale (Editor); Theodore O. Zapel (Editor)
Call Number: 808.82 O94
Publication Date: 2000

History of the Theatre by Oscar G. Brockett; Franklin J. Hildy
Call Number: 792 B864H
Publication Date: 2007
African American Performance and Theater History : a critical reader by Harry J. Elam (Editor); David Krasner (Editor)
Call Number: 792.089 A258
Publication Date: 2001
Making the Scene : a history of stage design and technology in Europe and the United States by Oscar G. Brockett; Margaret A. Mitchell; Linda Hardberger
Call Number: 792.025 B864M
Publication Date: 2010

"No Legs, No Jokes, No Chance" : a history of the American musical theater by Sheldon Patinkin
Call Number: 782.14 P298N
Publication Date: 2008

Light Fantastic : the art and design of stage lighting by Max A. Keller
Call Number: 792.025 K29L
Publication Date: 1999

Stage Lighting for Students
Includes links to the history of lighting and other websites, as well as a thorough look at lighting design, CADD, and lighting technology.
TheatreCrafts.com

DesigningSound.org
A resource dedicated to the art and technique of sound design, with the aim of sharing information and knowledge for free.
TheatreCrafts.com

Costumes for the Stage by Sheila Jackson
Call Number: 792.026 J14C
Publication Date: 2001
Making Stage Costumes : a practical guide by Tina Bicât
Call Number: 792.026 B583M
Publication Date: 2001
Stage and Screen Makeup : a practical reference for actors, models, makeup artists, photographers, stage managers & directors by Kit Hall; Kit Spencer
Call Number: 792.027 S745S
Publication Date: 2009

Illustrated Theatre Production Guide by John Holloway
Call Number: 792.02 H745i
Publication Date: 2010
This book examines theatres and their equipment, tools and materials, and scenery construction, as well as the principles of electricity and implementation of a lighting design.

The following sites and books will describe various acting techniques and vocal dialects.

A Beginner's Guide to Acting.com
International Dialects of English Archive - An online archive of primary-source recordings of English dialects and accents as heard around the world.

Telling Stories : a grand unifying theory of acting techniques by Mark Rafael
Call Number: 792 R136T
Publication Date: 2008
Stella : the art of acting by Howard Kissel; Marlon Brando (Preface by); Stella Adler
Call Number: 792 A237S
Publication Date: 2000
A Method to Their Madness : the history of the Actors Studio by Foster Hirsch
Call Number: 792.082 H669M
Publication Date: 2001

19th Century Actors and Theater Photographs
Over 600 photographs of entertainers, actors, and actresses who performed on the American stage in the mid- to late 1800s.
Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume Design
Original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States. These materials include costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric. You can browse items indexed in this collection by theatre or by play title.
Victoria and Albert Museum
Check out the "Stage Costume" section which includes an archive of images from the V&A's theatre and costume collection.