LibGuides: Communication Studies: Databases

Databases contain online versions of newspapers, magazines, journals, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and book chapters. Since you access databases online, many people think they are websites. They are NOTwebsites.You must login to gain access to databases because they are proprietary resources leased for use by EC students and employees.

When searching databases, you can be more specific with your keywords for a more precise list of results. You can search within the title, abstract, or full text of the item. The hardest part of searching databases is knowing which one to choose. The EC list of databases offers brief information about each resource. You can also search for databases by subject to help you more easily select appropriate databases.

Find scholarly articles and other information related to communication by logging in to these databases. If you are off campus, you will need to log into GALILEO for access.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of journals, magazines and other resources, including access to full-text, peer-reviewed journals. Additionally, the database includes access to video content updated monthly from the Associated Press, with footage from 1930 to present.
Information Science & Technology Abstracts: ISTA This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles from more than 450 publications.
Research Library at ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Good for science-related reference, magazines, newspaper articles, images, and scholarly journals.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. Subjects include communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for anyone researching the industry or its technology, the database includes over 140 titles, with more than 115 available in full text.

These are open access databases. No password is needed to locate the articles found here.

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank This link opens in a new window
Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine This link opens in a new window
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 340 million documents from more than 11,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

Educational Media Reviews Online
A database of video, DVD, audio CD and CD-ROM reviews of materials from major educational and documentary distributors and independent filmmakers.

Production Art Database This link opens in a new window
A guide to original artwork in the library's collection at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, including costume design and production design drawings, animation art, storyboards and paintings.

UNESCO Information Services
List and description of about 69 Information services and Documentation centres located at Headquarters and field offices, as well as virtual Clearing Houses. The database gives access to website, online databases and publications of the service.
World Press Photo
Sponsor of an annual contest for the best in photojournalism, and now in multimedia as well, this site includes the images of the winners of the most recent 2-3 years of the awards.